The primary function of the Executive Committee is to exercise powers of the Board of Directors which arise between regularly scheduled Board meetings or when it is not practical or feasible for the Board to meet.

The Executive Committee consists of the President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, and the Chairs of the three other standing committees: Education/Public Relations, Membership/Development, and Site/Stewardship. The Committee is chaired by the President of the Board; in the event the President is absent, the Vice-President may act as the Chair.

The Committee meets at such times and places and by such means as the President determines. The Committee reports regularly about its activities to the Board.